For Immediate Release:
Tuesday October 12, 2021
Contact: Dan Kovats,

Congressional Republicans Skip Out On Their Tab

Illinois Congressional Republicans Won’t Raise Debt Ceiling to Pay Trump Debts

Springfield, IL – Today, Illinois Congressional Republicans — Representatives Rodney Davis, Mike Bost, Mary Miller, Darin LaHood, and Adam Kinzinger — all voted no to pay our nation’s  bills. Illinois Democratic County Chairs Association (IDCCA) President Kristina Zahorik issued the following statement:

“When I worked on Senator Paul Simon’s staff, a fiscal conservative, I can remember Republicans in Washington caring about fiscal responsibility, but today sadly is a vastly different day.  Representatives Davis, Bost, Miller, LaHood, and Kinzinger proved they are not fiscally responsible, and they just don’t care. They voted against paying the bills incurred under the Trump Administration.”

“Donald Trump added $7.8 trillion to our national debt during his time in office. Now, Republicans want to skip out on paying for things like veterans benefits, Social Security payments to seniors, and payroll for U.S. service members. Defaulting on our bills is the opposite of fiscal responsibility, but this is the kind of double-speak, blind devotion to one man we have come to expect from our Republican delegation.”


About the IDCCA…

The Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) is a statewide, grassroots Democratic Party organization comprised of the elected Democratic County Chairs in all 102 counties in Illinois. The mission of the IDCCA is to help elect Democrats in every county and region of Illinois while continuing to grow the Democratic Party throughout the state. McHenry County Democratic Chair Kristina Zahorik is the President of the IDCCA.

Learn more at