For Immediate Release:
Dan Kovats, Executive Director
(773) 351-7818 /
Wednesday, February 15, 2023

Dem County Chairs Announce 2023 Party Builder Honorees

ATU Secretary Treasurer Deborah Cosey-Lane and Chicago & Cook County Building Trades
President Michael Macellaio to be honored

Springfield, IL – Democrats from across Illinois will gather on Monday, March 6th in Chicago to celebrate two recipients of the prestigious throughout the state will be gathering for the Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) annual Party Builders Awards Reception. The Party Builder Award, established six years ago, is awarded to those who have dedicated themselves to building the Democratic Party throughout Illinois. The IDCCA has led the grassroots efforts throughout to provide training, resources, and best practices to help get Democrats elected. The IDCCA Party Builder Award signifies the strong commitment to building the Democratic Party.

The IDCCA is proud to recognize two of our partners in organized labor – Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU Local 308 Secretary Treasurer Deborah Cosey-Lane and Chicago & Cook County Building Trades President Michael Macellaio as the 2023 Party Builder Award Honorees.

IDCCA President Kristina Zahorik released the following statement:

“The IDCCA has a symbiotic relationship with organized labor. We work together to uplift and give voice to working people and families. As the grassroots arm of the Democratic Party, we are excited to honor the work Deborah Cosey-Lane and Mike Macellaio, along with the Chicago Building and Construction Trades, have done to build the Democratic Party, elect Democratic candidates, and support policies that help working people. Policies like the Workers’ Rights Amendment, CEJA, and paid sick leave.”

ATU Local 308 Secretary Treasurer Deborah Cosey-Lane is a 31-year member of the Amalgamated Transit Union and a 30-year union steward. First elected Secretary Treasurer in 2017, she was recently re-elected in 2020. In 2021, Deborah was elected President of Amalgamated Transit Union Illinois Joint Conference, making her the first woman and first African American to be elected to this position. Deborah’s outreach and advocacy extends outside of her role with ATU. She has worked closely with partners such as Service Employees International Union (SEIU), International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW), United Auto Workers (UAW), and Citizen Action Illinois. She has also passionately worked on behalf of President Joe Biden, Governor JB Pritzker, Mayor of Chicago Lori Lightfoot, and newly elected Congressman Jonathan Jackson.

Chicago & Cook County Building Trades Council President Michael Macellaio has been involved in politics most of his life. His grandmother served as the Chicago 19th Ward Committeewoman and Democratic Party of Illinois State Central Committeewoman for the 3rd Congressional District. His father was an active member of Pipefitter’s Local 597. Attending union rallies, knocking on doors, and helping get Democrats elected was a way of life in the Macellaio house. Mike has previously served as the Labor Liaison and Prevailing Wage Officer for former State Comptroller and Deputy Governor Dan Hynes. He then went on to work for James Connolly and the Chicago Laborers’ District Council Laborers-Employers Cooperation and Education Trust (LECET) as Director of Governmental Affairs. In 2016, Mike was elected Secretary Treasurer of the Chicago & Cook County Building Trades Council and in 2022 he was elected President.

Cosey-Lane and Macellaio will be honored at the IDCCA Party Builder Awards Reception at Offshore Rooftop at Navy Pier in Chicago, IL on Monday, March 6th at 5:30pm. For more information or tickets to the Party Builder Awards Reception, please visit