For Immediate Release:
Monday November 1, 2021
Contact: Dan Kovats,


All Illinois Republican Congressmembers Voted Against Women’s Abortion and Reproductive Rights, Issue At Stake Before U.S. Supreme Court

Springfield, IL – Today, the U.S. Supreme Court is hearing oral arguments concerning Texas’ law banning most abortions in the state. In September, Illinois Congressional Republicans — Representatives Mike Bost, Rodney Davis, Mary Miller, Adam Kinzinger, and Darin LaHood — all voted against the Women’s Health Protection Act which would protect access to abortion across the country and pre-empt restrictions like those passed in Texas.  IDCCA President Kristina Zahorik issued the following statement:

“As the highest court in the land debates the anti-woman, extreme abortion ban passed in Texas, we want to remind Illinois voters that Mike Bost, Rodney Davis, Mary Miller, Adam Kinzinger, and Darin LaHood all voted against protecting women from laws like the Texas ban, which is so extreme it essentially bans abortions even in cases of rape and incest, and places bounties on doctors and women who seek reproductive health care.”

“The Supreme Court’s ruling would impact the precedent set by Roe v Wade, and so we intend to continue to remind voters that their Republican members of Congress don’t trust women and won’t protect their lawful rights.”

The Women’s Health Protection Act provides a statutory right for health care providers to provide abortion services without limitations such as those passed in Texas, and essentially codifies Roe v. Wade.

Last week, the IDCCA launched their first digital ads of the 2022 cycle, highlighting Republican votes against reproductive rights. The ads are targeting swing voters across the five Illinois Republican Congress Members districts: Rep. Mike Bost (IL-12), Rep. Rodney Davis (IL-13), Rep. Mary Miller (IL-15), Rep. Adam Kinzinger (IL-16), and Rep. Darin LaHood (IL-18).


About the IDCCA…

The Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) is a statewide, grassroots Democratic Party organization comprised of the elected Democratic County Chairs in all 102 counties in Illinois. The mission of the IDCCA is to help elect Democrats in every county and region of Illinois while continuing to grow the Democratic Party throughout the state. McHenry County Democratic Chair Kristina Zahorik is the President of the IDCCA.

Learn more at