For Immediate Release:
Wednesday June 30, 2021
Dan Kovats, Executive Director
(773) 351-7818 |

Reps. Bost and LaHood Vote to Keep Taney Bust in the Capitol

Springfield, IL — Last night, Illinois Congressmen Mike Bost and Darin LaHood joined in lock step with the majority of their Republican House colleagues in voting against HR 3005, which calls for the removal of a bust of former Chief Justice Roger Taney from the Capitol Building. Today, Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association President Kristina Zahorik released the following statement:

“Chief Justice Taney authored the infamous decision Dred Scott v. Sanford, which denied emancipation to an enslaved person on the grounds that the Constitution does not grant citizenship to persons of African descent. His decision dealt a devastating blow to the abolition movement in the nineteenth century. Our Illinois Congressmen should honor those who fought for the American values of equality and justice within the hallowed Capitol Building, rather than the author of a 164-year-old, pro-slavery decision.”


About the IDCCA…

The Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) is a statewide, grassroots Democratic Party organization comprised of the elected Democratic County Chairs in all 102 counties in Illinois. The mission of the IDCCA is to help elect Democrats in every county and region of Illinois while continuing to grow the Democratic Party throughout the state. McHenry County Democratic Chair Kristina Zahorik is the President of the IDCCA.

Learn more at