For Immediate Release:
Monday May 17, 2021
Dan Kovats, Executive Director
(773) 351-7818 |

Secretary of State Candidates Address Democratic County Chairs’ Association

Springfield, IL – On Saturday, May 15th, the Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) invited announced Democratic candidates for Secretary of State to address the 102 Democratic Party County Chairs at the quarterly General Membership Meeting. Five candidates, Chicago Alderwoman Pat Dowell, former State Treasurer Alexi Giannoulias, State Senator Michael Hastings, Chicago Alderman David Moore, and Chicago City Clerk Anna Valencia, spoke and took questions. Following the meeting, IDCCA President Kristina Zahorik issued the following statement:

“Illinois has so many great Democratic candidates looking to carry on and build upon the legacy of IDCCA Party Builder Honoree Secretary of State Jesse White. It will be an exciting primary. The five candidates shared their vision with us and look forward to meeting everyone in person as the state continues to open up. My fellow Chairs and I look forward to electing another great Democrat to serve the people of Illinois as Secretary of State.”  

The scheduled meeting was conducted via Zoom. It was attended by nearly 70 County Chairs, along with invited guests Democratic Party of Illinois Chair Congresswoman Robin Kelly, US Senator Dick Durbin, candidate Comptroller Susana Mendoza, candidate Treasurer Mike Frerichs, and members of the IDCCA Leadership Circle.

The IDCCA has not endorsed any candidate planning on running in next year’s Democratic primary for Secretary of State.


About the IDCCA…

The Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) is a statewide, grassroots Democratic Party organization comprised of the elected Democratic County Chairs in all 102 counties in Illinois. The mission of the IDCCA is to help elect Democrats in every county and region of Illinois while continuing to grow the Democratic Party throughout the state. McHenry County Democratic Chair Kristina Zahorik is the President of the IDCCA.

Learn more at