For Immediate Release:
Saturday May 16, 2020
Dan Kovats, Executive Director
(773) 351-7818 |

Ushers in the most gender diverse Executive Board in the history of the organization

SPRINGFIELD, IL – On Saturday, May 16th, the Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) held their quarterly General Membership Meeting. The meeting served as a reorganization meeting to elect the statewide leadership for the next two years. Kristina Zahorik (McHenry) was unopposed her in re-election as President of the organization. President Zahorik released the following statement:

“I am humbled and honored my fellow County Chairs have again put their faith in me to lead our organization. The IDCCA is made up of some of the best grassroots leaders throughout the state. These volunteers tirelessly work to build strong Democratic Parties in each of their counties. They believe, like I believe, every Democrat, everywhere counts. The IDCCA will continue to provide the necessary training, resources, and best practices our members need as we work to elect Democrats and grow successful organizations.”

Zahorik was first elected unanimously President of the IDCCA in November 2018 to fulfill the remainder of the term of Doug House (Rock Island). Zahorik is the first woman to be elected to lead the IDCCA.

Also elected to a two-year term include Vice President Billy Halstead (Peoria), Vice President Terry Link (Lake), Vice President Mark Guethle (Kane), Vice President Terry Redman (DeWitt), Vice President Jay Briney (Mason), Vice President Charlie Laskonis (Winnebago), Vice President Doris Turner (Sangamon), Vice President Pam Davidson (Knox), Vice President Paul Herkert (Calhoun), Vice President Toni Preckwinkle (Cook), Treasurer Brittany Miller (Tazewell), and Secretary Pam Monetti (Macoupin).

For the first time ever, women now comprise almost half of the elected leadership positions within the IDCCA. Of the thirteen elected positions, six are woman. President Zahorik also commented:

“While we still have a way to go to ensure gender equality, I am proud our organization is ensuring women, and in particular women of color, have a seat at the table within the Democratic Party. There is so much at stake in our democracy and it’s important every voice is heard.”

President Zahorik also announced the appointment of At Large Members to the IDCCA Executive Board including Teresa Vincent (Union), Mike Barone (Jackson), Jeff Mears (Johnson), Cynthia Borbas (DuPage), and Derek Jones (Rock Island). Dan Sidwell (Bond) has also been appointed Sargent at Arms for the IDCCA.


About the IDCCA…

The Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) is a statewide, grassroots Democratic Party organization comprised of the elected Democratic County Chairs in all 102 counties in Illinois. The mission of the IDCCA is to help elect Democrats in every county and region of Illinois while continuing to grow the Democratic Party throughout the state. McHenry County Democratic Chair Kristina Zahorik is the President of the IDCCA.

The IDCCA Leadership Circle is an advisory board made up of elected officials, members of Organized Labor, political activists, and supporters who are not County Chairs. The role of the IDCCA Leadership Circle is to act as Ambassadors for the IDCCA and help expand the resources that we provide to our County Chairs. Kevin Conlon of Conlon & Dunn Public Strategies serves as the Chair of the IDCCA Leadership Circle.

Learn more at, and