For Immediate Release:
Dan Kovats, Executive Director
(773) 351-7818 /
Saturday, September 10, 2022

Zahorik Re-elected President of Dem County Chairs’ Association

Vows to continue the vital work of building the grassroots movement of the Democratic Party throughout the State of Illinois

Springfield, IL – On Saturday, September 10th, the General Membership of the Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) met to elect their officers for the 2022 – 2024 term. Like the General Membership has done twice before, McHenry County Democratic Party Chair Kristina Zahorik was elected to a historic third term as President of the IDCCA.

President Zahorik has served as President since November 2018 and is now the longest serving President of the IDCCA since John Gianulis of Rock Island County.

IDCCA President Zahorik released the following statement:

“Every day I am impressed with the work our Democratic County Party Chairs do to build the Democratic Party throughout Illinois. Recruiting and training both candidates and volunteers, identifying voters and getting out the vote, ensuring elections are run fairly by appointing Election Judges and pollwatchers, and participating in the most basic civic activities like putting up yard signs and marching in parades. Illinois is and will continue to be a blue state because of their efforts. I am humbled and honored to lead this prestigious organization as we continue to fight the good fight and elect Democrats up and down the ballot.”

Several other offices were also elected by the General Membership.

Joining President Zahorik on her elected leadership team are Vice President Billy Halstead (Peoria County), Vice President Mark Guethle (Kane County), Vice President Terry Redman (DeWitt County), Vice President Jay Briney (Mason County), Vice President Charlie Laskonis (Winnebago County), Vice President Pam Davidson (Knox County), Vice President Paul Herkert (Calhoun County), Vice President Toni Preckwinkle (Cook County),

Vice President Teresa Vincent (Union County), Vice President Mike Barone (Jackson County), Treasurer Bill Houlihan (Sangamon County), and Secretary Pam Monetti (Macoupin County).

President Zahorik also announced the following appointments to her leadership team including At Large Member Dan Sidwell (Bond County), At Large Member Christine Ballard (Ogle County), At Large Member Fidencio Hooper – Campos (Whiteside County),

At Large Member Lauren Beth Gash (Lake County), At Large Member Nate Brown (Randolph County), and Sargent at Arms Patrick Cortesi (McLean County).