For Immediate Release:
Wednesday June 16, 2021
Dan Kovats, Executive Director
(773) 351-7818 |

Mary Miller Votes Against Bill Honoring U.S. Capitol Police Officers

Springfield, IL – On Tuesday, June 15, Illinois Congresswoman Mary Miller joined twenty-one other House members in voting against awarding medals to officers who responded to the January 6, 2021 failed insurrection at the U.S. Capitol. Today, Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association President Kristina Zahorik issued the following statement:

“Illinois continues to suffer embarrassment from the actions and comments of Mary Miller, now because she does not support honoring the heroes who defended our nation’s Capitol. 406 of her colleagues joined the bi-partisan vote and just 21 House Republicans, included Mary Miller, voted no.

Quoting Hitler, voting against certifying Electoral College votes, and now thumbing your nose at the officers who died and protected you and other members of Congress — Mary Miller, explain yourself, please.”


About the IDCCA…

The Illinois Democratic County Chairs’ Association (IDCCA) is a statewide, grassroots Democratic Party organization comprised of the elected Democratic County Chairs in all 102 counties in Illinois. The mission of the IDCCA is to help elect Democrats in every county and region of Illinois while continuing to grow the Democratic Party throughout the state. McHenry County Democratic Chair Kristina Zahorik is the President of the IDCCA.

Learn more at